Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Esque has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Dips and Sharp Shooting Pain

I'll try to keep this short and simple, and add more information if needed for context.

I have been using machine assisted dips for a few months now, but recently have started to develop sharp, shooting pain in my ulna of my left and right arm. The pain creeps up while doing forearm, biceps, or triceps exercises.

My best guess is this is a combined result of moving down to less and less assistance with the small size of the assisted dip machine's handlebars. The bars are either 1/2" to 3/4" in diameter, with no padding. I am assuming as I lower my assisted weight, and therefore put more weight onto my arms, I am adding additional weight pressure onto my hands. Due to the size of the handlebars, this weight is distributed upon a much small surface area, thus causing this pain.

At my gym, there are two pull up racks that have handlebars that are either 1 3/4" to 2" thick. Currently on the assisted machine, I am only using 30 lbs of assistance.

What are my options? I'm thinking it's time to take off the training wheels and just roll with the pull up rack handlebars. For all I know, it may even be easier with the increased surface area for my hands to hold my weight up. The other option in my head is to get some additional padding, but I'd hate to waste my time when I know in a few weeks I'll have weened myself off the assisted machine regardless.