Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) Caliginosity has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10)

When They Say 8-12 Reps, What Do They Mean Exactly?

I've been lifting for several years now, but something that has always bothered me was the 8-12 rep thing, or rep ranges in general, be it 6-10, 8-12, or whatever. Also, before I carry on I have a feeling people will assume that I believe 8-12 reps is the absolute best way to train. That is not the case at all, I'm just using it as an example.

What exactly do people mean when they say that? I've always taken it as follows: I have 2 routines which are pretty much the same. One routine has me doing 3-4 sets of 8 reps for pretty much every exercise, and the other has me doing the same but with 12 reps.

The problem is, I've always had a bit of an issue with this way of training, as I keep thinking I've most likely misunderstood what people are talking about when they say things like 8-12 reps, even after all these years. Surely they don't mean people should have 2 routines like I've got, one with 8 reps, the other with 12.

So my question is basically this...

- When people say things such as 8-12 reps, how should that play out in the gym? Should I always be aiming for 12 reps no matter what? I'd then be aiming for 12 reps, but sometimes I'd perhaps only reach 8 or 10 etc, therefore I would be always working in the 8-12 range. The reason I ask is because in my 8 rep routine I basically aim for 8 reps, then stop my set, whereas in the 12 rep routine I aim for 12, but with less weight of course.