dcstorm097 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Help with sit ups?

I leave to Marine Corps boot camp in about a month and the area I have to improve on the most is sit ups in 2 minutes. Besides sit ups I can do 10 pull ups, circa 11:33 1.5 mile that was tested in an inclined area and rain, and 52 sit ups.When I get to 30 I just crap out and have to do a few and rest and that's how I ended up with 52. I get stinging pain in my lower back and some in my abs. My target area is ideally 100. I admit I am a total beginner on calisthenics and don't have any spinal issues. I weigh 170 at 5'6 and could stand to lose a few pounds, but most of it is muscle mass I want to lose without losing the strength. I gained a lot of this through lifting from hockey as I played at a good competitive level

My question is how many reps should I do? Should I do max reps in x amount of sets? What are some other exercises I could do? Should I STRENGTHEN my lower back with lifting, or stick with body weight, calisthenics, and then work on abs with general exercises? I definitely feel there's something going in my back because I can do 45 seconds on a front plank and then its my lower back that's the first to give out.

dat dere stick insect noflyingcars's Avatar
    noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) noflyingcars is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500)
    sit up is a **** exercise, especially if they are assessed on how many/time.