Total Newb Always Learnin black70stang's Avatar
    black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) black70stang has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Arrow Obese Newb Here, Preparing My FIRST "Cut" - Critics Inside, Please

Been lurking around, reading the stickies and doing searches for about the past week or so - I'm gathering information and planning for my first ever "cut" that I plan to start this coming Monday, 07/27/09. Those of you experienced with substantial weight loss, please go over my plan and critique it as you see necessary.

ABOUT ME: 23 year old male, 6'0", nearly 270lbs. Body fat percentage likely in the 35% range (I don't have calipers yet). Completely new to diet, exercise and nutrition - cursed with a desk-all-day job.

THE GOAL: Lose 75 pounds (I'd like to be under 200lbs) or achieve 10% body fat, whichever comes first. I plan to continue this "cut" until the goal is achieved, and I'd like maximum results quickly. My motivation is through the roof.

...and now the details:

CALORIE DEFICIT: Based on my calculations, my caloric intake for the first week should be ~2600 (eating at a deficit). I will re-calculate this weekly, lowering my target calories as needed. I plan to log my foods using FitDay or The Daily Plate.

EXERCISE SCHEDULE: I picked up a free weight set & bench, and I plan to use it 4 days per week. On these days, I'll participate in LISS/LILD cardio for ~45 minutes. On the 3 days I don't lift, I plan to do periods of HIIT lasting up to 20 minutes.