Sammoo has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Supplements Newbie in Search of Advice

Hi guys,

Newbie here. I'm around 155 pounds, 5'10 and am just starting workout. I am in great shape, but do not have much muscle. I have set myself the goal of putting on as much muscle mass as possible by Jan 1 2010, which gives me just under half a year. I want to do this because back when I did skiff sailing competitively I had great strength but it didn't show. I really would enjoy that strength back, as well as a better body for my running, hockey and self-esteem. Some of my close mates are ****ing huge, however that looks a bit too much for me, I want to have more of a lean muscly look such as Brad Pitt in Fight Club (I know, chliche example, but it's probably the easiest to convey).

I have purchased and read cover to cover Starting Strength and I plan to follow Rippetoe's regimen for building muscle mass. I have been eating for the past 2 weeks roughly 4000-5000 calories and have been learning proper technique without stacking too much weight, as well as doing a lot of core work and cardio.

I aim to start next Monday on the proper regimen, and I would really like to use one or two suppliments to jump-start my workouts. I wouldn't plan to use them for the first weeks while I'm still stacking weights, however once my body has recovered from the initial shock of the tri-weekly workouts and I'm using weights closer to my limit I'd like to use a suppliment to speed it up.

I have been suggested by one of my mates that I use Gaspari SizeOn. He ****ing loves it, raves about it. I also was looking at some kind of protein suppliment to drink with meals, especially for post-workouts.

So I was thinking Gaspari SizeOn and Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey. I was looking at other NO-based suppliments like NO-Xtreme and White Flood however I don't think I will get much use out of them until I have quite a bit more muscle mass on me.