PDA

View Full Version : Is a "maintenance phase" really necessary?

Tim
01-19-2002, 02:46 PM
I hope not. I've been bulking for a few months and I'm bloated and I want to go right into cutting. My prohormone cycle ends tomorrow, and I was planning on eating just like I am now for a week and then go straight into cutting. I don't need to eat maintenace calories for a fews weeks before I start to cut, do I?

fitnessman
01-19-2002, 05:42 PM
No not really.

Maintenance kinda blows anyway....Should be used for points in your life where bulking and cutting dont fit in. The trick is determining what your maintenance calories are.

Not a bad thing....we all have to maintain sooner or later......I have maintaned for months.

Tim
01-19-2002, 05:53 PM
Cool, because I was totally planning on abruptly going right into my keto cutting diet from my high-carb bulking diet. I am curious to see how my body will react to such a sudden drastic change in my diet. I was planning to do a maintenance diet this summer when I am all cut again.

Fudog1138
01-19-2002, 06:00 PM
Maintenance blows?
I'm a bit pissed at my first attempt at bulking. I'm getting quite a bit stronger, but it's all getting covered with this friggin fat (13% to 14%). The stomach I can deal with, around the nips though? I got sick and took a week off, started again and adjusted calories by 500 (currently 3500)less then before my break. So far so good.
In two months I was going to go 500 (3000) less and maintain for a few months, then slowly cut down (2000) for the summer until I hit my goals.
Why does the maintenance blow?
Thanks,

fitnessman
01-19-2002, 06:25 PM
Maintenace blows because you are neither gaining or losing.

Just keeping where you are at....I have spent months(due to work, family, injuries, ect.) maintaining. Dont care for it myself.

Tim, by diving right in...you are going to have some draatic affects right off the bat...They will slow....But the first 4 weeks or so will be astounding.

Tim