PDA

View Full Version : Pain in the back !

giantfan43
02-11-2003, 06:37 AM
Well, I did it .. Its been a bit over a year since I started lifting again after my 5 year layoff .. I've been lucky .. no pains to speak of .. well, today, my 43 - year old body caught up with me .. doing my back routine, nothing different, warmed up properly, did my BB rows and moved to my deadlifts .. after some warm-ups there, worked up to 275, which is manageable for me ... pulled 3 clean reps and on the 4th, POP .. felt something give in my lower back .. dropped the weight and went home .. well, right now, I am in serious pain and feeling pissed .. been going over it in my head .. didn't cheat on form .. the 275 is far off my max lift so I wasn't over doing it .. just something gave ... well, this will keep me out of the gym the rest of this week for sure and I am going skiiing next week (hopefully now I'll be ok) .. so, after my layoff, I hope to get back to it in a couple of weeks .. but I have to tell you that I am in a very pissed off mood right now .. I have a 3-day meeting at work so I can't even go home and stay off of it .. I guess I'm just venting here .. nothing aggravates me more than an injury .. especially one I can't explain .. my workouts have been going so good lately too ! Oh well, sorry for the long post ... gotta run to my meeting now . hopefully, I'll be able to sit through it .. not sure how though ...

WarriorPoet
02-11-2003, 06:44 AM
That just plain sucks.

bb5-0
02-11-2003, 06:55 AM
Bad luck, giant!
It has happened to me too ! Just when I was doing so good, something like that happened and I don't really know why!
I noticed it generally happened when the weather was wet.
The best thing to do is to give your back time to heal and avoid making things worse. Try glucosamin and glutamin, they can help .

giantfan43
02-11-2003, 08:36 AM
Originally posted by bb5-0
Bad luck, giant!
Try glucosamin and glutamin, they can help .