PDA

View Full Version : Weak Shoulder

Rick602
02-01-2003, 01:08 AM
Hey Guys,

I just noticed your site, and I would like some advice. I retired from the Army several years ago and I work as a police officer now. I tore my right rotator cuff pretty bad about 2 Ĺ years ago. I had surgery, but the doctor told me he was pretty skeptical the tendons and my shoulder in general -doesnít keep me from the job though ;o)

I enjoy lifting, so Iíve been very careful about working my shoulder. My question is this. When Iím working on the flat bench, Iíve started moving my hands closer together, and tucking my elbows to get more lift. Iím basically cheating with my triceps, to increase my bench.

My trouble areas are getting my elbows out away from my side, and working my chest more. I have limited depth on the incline press (canít get the bar all the way down to my chest without pain, but Iím working on that). Is it bad to retrain my muscles to lift heavy in this manner, or should I back off on the weight, and go for technique?

Iíve been trying to lift heavy with 2 to 6 reps. Iím finally able to get 225 up twice with a little help on the second rep. I finish the bench with high reps (about 15) with 135 on the bar. When I do this I concentrate on using a more proper form with my hands a little farther apart, and my elbows out, bringing more of my chest into play.

I can only get to the gym three days a week. Day one is Chest, triceps, skip a day, day two is biceps and shoulders (I found this works better with my shoulder injury) skip a day, and day three is legs and back. I start each workout with a 10-minute bicycle warm-up, good stretch, and 75-100 sit-ups. I do my routine, and depending on how much time I have left I stair step 30 minutes, and run about a mile and a quarter. Some days I will go longer on Hey Guys,