PDA

View Full Version : New to the site: New to BodyBuilding.

MikeSmith
01-28-2003, 12:03 PM
Hi everyone just thought I'd introduce myself!

I'm not officially 35 (3months to go!) but as I'm a novice to the Art of the Ultimate Physique (you could say a virgin!) I'm interested to know your opinion on my choice to take up the Pursuit of my true Physical Potential. Is 35 a bit late in the day?

I have lost 25kg recently and am trying to realise a teenage dream... I was given all the wrong signals at school and college - that Bodybuilding was vain, egotistical and an utter nonsense; and that it wasn't 'right' for me! So I shunned the one thing that, now, has made me focussed and given me a sense of dignity.

I don't believe I will ever compete though that is something I would love to do - but do you think I am setting myself up for disappointment? Given that I am out of condition and aware of the committment and timescale involved in gaining size and definition (I am under no allusions!) will I be too old to appreciate any of the subsidiary benefits - especially a sense of admiration/recognition when I go shirtless (not that I plan to at the local supermarket!)

If it's not a rude question why did you fellas take up this Noble Craft (particularly in later life)?

I can see why teenagers, their testosterone gushing through their veins, would want to commit their time to boosting their popularity with the ladies... I suppose I want reassurance that I've made a phychologically sound dicision... That I'm not trying to regain my lost youth... Does that sound sad? Am I going through a mid-life crisis?

Help me out guys...I'm getting cold-feet!!!

Eye2_Man
01-28-2003, 12:21 PM
Hi Mike,

Congrats on losing 25kg! That must feel great.