PDA

View Full Version : Deciphering how many different exercises I need

Juststaysea
07-12-2006, 01:41 PM
Hello

I'm brand new to the awesome world of bodybuilding (3 days). I was wondering what is the maximum amount of exercises I should do for each body part? I don't want to over do it.

Thanks so much, you all are awesome.

Stacey

arose70
07-12-2006, 01:45 PM
Since you are new what kind of split are you doing?

Full body, push/pull, upper/lower? If you haven't gotten that far that's fine and we can help with that too!

Juststaysea
07-12-2006, 02:34 PM
Okay this is sounding all greek to me and I guess I'm going to have to go out an buy a copy of bodybuilding for dummies. LOL

So far this is what I've acomplsihed and my plan for now.

M-F Cardio 15-20 minutes

M-Triceps, Chest
T- Biceps, Back, Abds, Glutes
W- Quads, Forearms, Calves
TH- Abds, Glutes
F- Legs, Shoulders
S-Abds, Glutes
Sunday- Rest

I also wasn't sure what weight to start at, so I was doing everything at 30 lbs and 50 for my legs, but upon reading various posts and think I need to ramp it up a bit. Any advice?

I'm 5'4, I think I'm 140 (I don't weight myself, it depresses me) but I'm a size 4. I'm hoping the cardio will help me shed some of the weight around my midsection, while gaining some mass at the same time.

arose70
07-12-2006, 02:44 PM
No!!! Its okay, that's why I asked :D! There is SO much info around here, just keep reading and absorbing!

The type of split you use is how you can work different muscle groups. So far, you have no recognizable split :p. And that's okay!

Let's start by organizing some of this. Your body works as a whole in daily life so a good split will have you working muscles that work in the same manner. Since you are starting out it would be a good idea to do a few full body workouts every week.

How about this:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday
Squats 3x8 (sets x reps)
Stiff legged dead lifts 3x8
Bench press 3x8
bent rows 3x8
pull ups 2x8
Dips 2x8
Shoulder press 2x8