PDA

View Full Version : sad

fawn
06-30-2006, 09:45 PM
I have problems with menstruating...because i don't menstruate on my own not unless i took some hormone replacement therapy.

Nothing seemed to be wrong w/ my tests, but the only culprit i think (and my doctor too) is i'm lifting too heavy weights.

I ask my doctor how come some women lift weights yet they are normal (menstruation), she said that it might be possible that my body wasn't that mature when i started lifting weights.

She asked me to drop the number of days doing weight training and lift lighter weights instead.

Will this affect the muscle i've gained for the past 3-4 yrs of hard work?

I'm not exactly have buling muscle, but i considered myself toned, and i can see the cuts on my arms.

Please advice.. thanks! :)

Gibson Girl
07-01-2006, 05:27 AM
Lifting lighter will not cause you to lose muscles. Instead, of lifting heavy drop the weights by 20 - 25 lbs and add more reps to your training. If you decide later to lift heavy then lower your reps. Rather, doing 10 - 15 reps you can do 6-8.

Your health and listening to your doctor is important. So stay postive and you will come out a winner.

OldEnuf2BYoMama
07-01-2006, 07:22 AM
what kinds of tests have you had? My niece (who does not lift) had period problems and it turned out to be in her pituitary gland! She now takes some sort of medication that helps her have regular periods. If you are not supplementing and do not have huge bulging muscles from the training you do, I might get a second opinion from another doctor.....just an idea.

ginabear05
07-01-2006, 07:25 AM
I would get a 2nd opinion too. I don't see how lifting heavy weights could affect your period like that. Now, I know that when a woman's bodyfat drops too low she can lose her period. Good luck, hope you find out what's wrong.

WillDeadliftForFood
07-01-2006, 12:41 PM
See my post here for the bodyfat/birth control/lost periods discussion.