PDA

View Full Version : Weight Training and Weight Loss

tlewis9317
06-18-2006, 04:50 PM
I am 38 year old woman and I been dieting because I would like to lose 25 more pounds. I do cardio 4 days a week for 45 minutes per session and I weight train 3 days a week for 45 minutes per session. I use 5 and 10 pound dumbells but for some reason my arms are getting bigger. The lower part of my body is shrinking but my arms keep getting bigger when I weight train. I eat about 1700-1800 calories per day so I don't understand why this is happening. Can anyone offer me advice on how to prevent this from happening?

Luvdogs
06-18-2006, 08:46 PM
Hi there,

Is your goal strictly weight loss? Do you want to build muscle? I think lifting heavier would be beneficial for a lot of reasons. More muscle equals faster metabolism which equals a leaner body. As you can see in my signature, I have lost 39 lbs. and since I started lifting heavy in Feb. and doing less cardio my body has changed a lot for the better. I have pictures from Nov. where I thought I looked good at 130 lbs. and now the shape of my arms is sooo different. I lift in the 6-8 rep range. Your calories seem about right. How tall are you?

Laurie
06-19-2006, 04:00 AM
I use 5 and 10 pound dumbells but for some reason my arms are getting bigger. The lower part of my body is shrinking but my arms keep getting bigger when I weight train. I eat about 1700-1800 calories per day so I don't understand....

Fat is taken from all parts of the body to fuel the energy needed to increase your metabolism while exercising. That is where the fat is going and why your lower body is "shrinking". You may have noticed any upper body fat has been decreasing too. With that, any muscle build up will be more noticeable too.