PDA

View Full Version : Can a catholic deny creationism?

Throwback
10-25-2005, 09:34 AM
Had a discussion with someone who is a Catholic who said he didnt beleive in Creationism or Intelligent design, and supported evolution. I'm not necessarily disagreeing with his beleifs... but it seems odd that he can call himself a devout Catholic and reject creationism. He stated that there is nothing in the New Testatment or Catholic doctrine that requires him or any Catholic to be a creationist. I'm not a religious expert, but I have a feeling he is wrong. Can anyone support or disprove his statements?

I guess two ways of proving my point would be to show:

1. Does the New Testament state anything in regards to creationism, or is it not mentioned
2. Do Catholics support the Old Testament?

sword_
10-25-2005, 09:36 AM
Fully deny Creationalism? No.

Throwback
10-25-2005, 09:37 AM
Fully deny Creationalism? No.
Is there a specific passage in the New Testament, or something requiring them to practice what is in the Old Testament? I'm just curious about this as I would like to show him and get his feedback.

Oldbastard
10-25-2005, 10:55 AM
You cannot deny creationism, or for that matter be pro abortion, among many other things, and be a catholic. You can call yourself one, but in the eyes of the church you are not. This is what people don't seem to get, you have to believe it all, you can't pick and choose what you want to believe and still be a catholic.

Flex500
10-25-2005, 11:04 AM