PDA

View Full Version : Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Guys out there...

Clayzinho
09-15-2002, 09:01 PM
Hey, to all you Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu guys out there, I was wondering if we could get this thread going about your personal workout routine for BJJ is, what supplements you take and why? Do you work out any differently SPECIFICLY FOR BJJ? Also, are you a guard player or a top player? Who is your instructor? Do you compete? I'd like to see who the BJJ Crowd is on here...

Oldschool
09-16-2002, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by Clayzinho
Hey, to all you Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu guys out there, I was wondering if we could get this thread going about your personal workout routine for BJJ is, what supplements you take and why? Do you work out any differently SPECIFICLY FOR BJJ? Also, are you a guard player or a top player? Who is your instructor? Do you compete? I'd like to see who the BJJ Crowd is on here...

I'm 17 I started training ju-jitsu about a year ago, started going seriously about 4months ago. I'm training for my first competition. I take a daily vitamin, Prolab Whey and Z-Mass. I weight train for strenght, more then size and i often do cardio balls to the wall. I have ju-jitsu 3 times a week + I do boxing about once a week +weights 4times a week + cardio 2times a week.
And i try to be a top player, but the guard doesn't bother me one bit.

usnjosh
09-17-2002, 11:54 AM
I train at Gracie Barra - Virginia Beach, Virginia under Gustavo Machado.

As far as training goes, I train 6 days per week about 2 hours per day. I have changed to a more rep oriented workout because I am big enough muscle wise and am looking at getting more lean.
As far as supplements go, I take a myoplex and a meal replacement bar every day, as well as take a multi-vitamin.

I do an hour of cardio every other day, both to increase my endurance and to lower my weight. I've decided endurance is the way to go in this sport, as I am getting destroyed by people I outweigh by 65 lbs.