PDA

View Full Version : Bodybuilding and Kickboxing?

Xtreme4Life
09-01-2002, 02:33 AM
I started lifting weights in the beginning of 2001, didn't really get serious about it until last Fall. I've been making good gains but don't do much cardio.

I just signed up at a kickboxing gym (to eventually get into muay thai), am going to be taking classes three days a week, at least, and will be there for about two hours each time I go. I'm wondering if this is going to hurt my progress in the gym at all? Anybody else have experience with this?

Thanks.

leon1
09-01-2002, 07:13 PM
I used to do something like this last year.For about 5 months i was training in boxing and kick boxing 2 to 4 times every week.I wasnt very careful though and i lost a lot of pounds(fat and muscle).I think this was because i didnt count my caloric intake corectly.I will start again next month but this time i m going to be very careful with my diet.If u see that u dont gain any more just raise your caloric intake.And be careful u must not overtrain.U must know your limits.

Xtreme4Life
09-02-2002, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by leon1
I used to do something like this last year.For about 5 months i was training in boxing and kick boxing 2 to 4 times every week.I wasnt very careful though and i lost a lot of pounds(fat and muscle).I think this was because i didnt count my caloric intake corectly.I will start again next month but this time i m going to be very careful with my diet.If u see that u dont gain any more just raise your caloric intake.And be careful u must not overtrain.U must know your limits.

Yeah, I going to be sure and supplement my kickboxing sessions just like I do my weight training sessions. I'm also going to make sure that weights and kickboxing are at least 8 hours apart if they're even on the same day.

thanks for you input. appreciate it.

Sean P
09-02-2002, 08:16 PM