PDA

View Full Version : Please evaluate my program

deedeenc
10-11-2004, 09:00 PM
I have been lifting weights off and on for about 2 years but nothing really serious. I currently and 5'6 and weigh 139 pounds. According to my doctor I an 21% bodyfat. My measurements are 34, 25, 37. I would like to drop 10 or so more pounds. I want to ease myself into a moderate intensity program so got out all of my fitness magazines and attempted to put together a program. Tell me what you think

Cardio- 3 to 4 times a week alternating between regular steady paced programs and interval training

Weights

Bicep curls
Bench Press
Squats
Deadlifts
Tricep Kickbacks
Military Press
One Arm Rows

I was thinking about 3 sets of each exercise 2 times a week for the first two weeks and then bumping up the weight each week there after. I was going to use this program for 5 or so weeks and then create another one by adding more exercises. I really want to start off with the basics and add on slowly as I go.

bscrusher
10-12-2004, 08:45 AM
if all you want to do is lose 10 lbs you have no need of excercise at all. you can just eat less.

why do you want to lose this 10 lbs? do you think you will look or feel better when you read this magical number on your scale?

how about this, why not look in the mirror and see what you would like to improve upon as concerns your physical appearance? then decide if maybe you would like to feel stronger and more energetic, maybe you would like to improve your posture and general physical ability.

then you could formulate a program to match these goals. because the goals make sense, the program will make sense.

leave the scale alone, it only confuses and frustrates beginners. that goes double for the bf% calculations.

whatever your goals turn out to be, you will be better served by keeping your lifting sessions down to 2-4 excercises per session.

why so much cardio? are you competing in some sort of racing or endurance sport?