PDA

View Full Version : tattoos and muscles

Anima
10-06-2004, 11:13 PM
Being a woman who is working on becoming a srtong woman, and one who already has a couple of tattoos, I was wondering if they are considered a no-no in the bodybuilding world or not? I cant recall seeing any competitors with them or not.... IF people have them do they try to cover them for a show someo how or not?

THESE are the kind of thoughts I have before coffee at 7 am! LOL

A

MsFit
10-07-2004, 07:33 AM
Competing with tattoos is no big deal. They don't mark against it.

Anima
10-07-2004, 11:49 PM
Nice to know as I am slowly getting a collection!

Laurie
10-08-2004, 02:10 AM
Addictive arent they?

I carry eight total, four on each arm. All in period Old Norse/Viking Art style (Mammen, Jellinge, Urnes). This is what I do for a living decorating my husband's handforged weaponry and a jeweler. Vikings did have tattooing done according to some surviving accounts and they fit with our hobby as a Living History reenactors/personna in the Society for Creative Anachronism.

Two upper shoulder ( Left: Celtic/Germanic "La Tene" abstract" and Right: early Viking "Broa" beast) Two armbands in Jellinge style (same pattern). Two inner forearm pieces in Mammen/Jellinge style. two on top of my forearms in Urnes and Mammen style. These do have quite abit of special meaning for me and were inked at different times.

So I do get some looks by guys who find my tats, as a women, more elaborate than their wee bit of bobwire around a bicep. The women who have made any comments like both the color and dynamic movement of the art.

Not having any intention of bodybuilding for a competition. I have to admit, the armbands look especially good after a good arm workout and flex the bicep or the triceps in "pose" front of a mirror ;)

wantmoresize
10-08-2004, 07:44 AM