PDA

View Full Version : tendonitis

dana2000
10-01-2004, 07:57 AM
Hi all I have been training for about 2 months with a trainer and trying to maintain cardio at 5 days a week...here is my problem my right arm is hurting alot and my trainer said it was tendonitis it has been bothering me for about 2 weeks now up near my elbow and it hurts to lift sometimes....any ideas or suggestions on how to get rid of it and not get it back??? I have noticed that when I am lifting my grip isnt the best I have been working on this could this have contributed to it??thanks all. have a great day

bluegirl
10-01-2004, 12:36 PM
Hi Dana!

I don't know much about exercise-induced tendonitis, so hopefully someone will step in and correct me if I'm off-base in that regard.

That said, I've suffered from tendonitis for about three years now, and it can really be excrutiating. If you've had pain for a couple of weeks now, and it's not going away, I'd stop using that arm for at least a couple of days. Tendonitis won't go away on its own; you have to stop using the limb that's in pain. I know how frustrating that is, but trust me, you'd rather be out for a couple of day than push yourself and wind up out for weeks.

If it persists, try an elbow brace like this (http://www.braceshops.com/coreelbowneoprene.htm) -- I have one for when my elbow acts up, and it helps a lot.

Icing also helps, as does heat -- in fact, my physical therapist used to have me submerge one forearm in hot water (with electrostim, whee! ) while the other was in cold water, and then switch every 2 minutes. Having a warm pack and ice pack might be a "home" solution for that. :)

The other thing that I do that really has helped is regular chiropractic/massage therapy appointments. Plus, it feels really good on sore muscles. ;)

Hibiscus09
10-01-2004, 03:21 PM