PDA

View Full Version : What's all the deal about "toning?"

M Calavera
09-30-2004, 03:46 PM
Why are some people in this forum against the word "toning?" Being a complete newbie, I was just wondering....

Does it not actually exist, or are the elite bodybuilders pooh-poohing the efforts of the ones starting out in a friendly way? I don't get it...

*is confused*

pocke_change
09-30-2004, 03:50 PM
i'd be curious too..... trying to keep in mind that we all (no matter how svelte and cut you are) started somewhere.....

thanks

imperfectly_lou
09-30-2004, 04:29 PM
The word "toning" drives us all mad because it simply does not exist!

If you were to read up on exercise physiology, a muscle is "toned" when it is contracted e.g. flexed

But women seem to think there is this difference between gaining muscle and "getting toned" i.e. if I say I am wanting to gain muscle, i will turn into Arnie!

You either gain muscle or you don't, simple as that! Woman do not have the hormonal capacity to get huge without the use of anabolic steroids and other illegal supplements. A nicely "toned" woman is simply someone who has worked her ass off to gain muscle, and has then worked on losing the layer of fat covering it so as to reduce her BF%.

M Calavera
10-01-2004, 02:35 AM
I get it now...

So basically, if you want muscle definition, you just gotta get rid of most of the body fat covering it in order to be able to see it, right?

imperfectly_lou
10-01-2004, 03:02 AM
Yep! And you have to build up the muscle underneath the fat so it is actually worth looking at first! ;)

pocke_change
10-01-2004, 04:43 AM
that makes the finest sense.... thanks for explaining

M Calavera
10-01-2004, 05:20 AM
:) So, it <b>is</b> worth doing weights even though I've got a LOT of body fat to get rid of first, right? I should continue with weights despite the body fat needing to be lost then.