PDA

View Full Version : track athlete needs diet help

sixpackby05
09-26-2004, 06:53 PM
Here are my stats. I am 5'5 and 135 lbs. I used to weigh 115 lbs but then I went on an anti-depressant and gained 20 lbs. I stopped taking it but now I cannot seem to lose the weight. I joined the track team in an effort to lose weight last week.

Activity level is as follows:
m: weights at 6:30am, track at 3pm
t: track at 3pm
w: weights at 6:30am, track at 3pm
th: track at 3pm
f: weights at 6:30am, track at 3pm

I need help determining the proper caloric intake so I can lose weight safely. I know you can only lose 1 or 2 lbs a week safely so I am not looking for a crash diet or anything. I also do not want to starve myself and pass out during track. I am a busy college student and need ideas that are not too pricey for food.

I was thinking a diet like the following would work:
m1 after weights: 0.5 cup of oats, 1 scoop of whey, 1 cup of berries

m2: don't know

m3: 1 cup of rice or 3/4 cup of beans, veggies, and meat like chicken or tuna

track

after track m4: veggies and meat

m5: veggies and meat

I also thought it was worth mentioning that I have the metabolism of a slug. That is why I want to join track and lift weights so perhaps I could raise it a little. Most people in my family have thyroid problems and are really overweight that is why I want to get in shape now and not keep gaining weight. I also want to be able to wear my clothes again. I have refused to buy new ones b/c I want to lose the weight and not get complacent. Please help me out. I went to a nutritionist and she told me to eat 12 servings of bread a day and that protein was bad for me and I know I would blow up if I followed her advice. Bread makes me gain weight. I just need some guidance so I can do this safely. I feel like crud about myself and that is not good. I am sick of people telling me I look like crap.

imperfectly_lou
09-26-2004, 07:46 PM