PDA

View Full Version : need some female help

freebsd
09-25-2004, 08:33 AM
hi, my wife decided that she wants to get lean and lose belly fat. Now, I just started lifting too so I wouldn't know what to tedo but to make her a meal plan. Do women workout like men? Are you women supposed to do aerobics everyday? She just wants to look leaner. Not fat. For now I'm making sure that she's eating healthy and doing some cardio.

Emma-Leigh
09-25-2004, 06:09 PM
hi, my wife decided that she wants to get lean and lose belly fat. Now, I just started lifting too so I wouldn't know what to tedo but to make her a meal plan. Do women workout like men? Are you women supposed to do aerobics everyday? She just wants to look leaner. Not fat. For now I'm making sure that she's eating healthy and doing some cardio.

To 'get lean' and loose fat she will have to do the same thing that everyone else who wants to 'get lean and loose fat' should do.

Make sure she is eating well - with a good balance of carbs, proteins and healthy fats.

Decrease calorie intake to slightly below her maintainence (by ~200 to 300 cals).

Increase her energy expenditure - via anaerobic activity (weights) and an appropriate increase in aerobic activity (cardio).

Yes, for her weights she should basically 'train like a man' (why don't we just call it 'train hard' ;) ). With weight training, only hard heavy lifting will create the type of metabolic demand that will help her shift bodyfat perminantly. This lifting will also tighten and develope her muscle mass - meaning that when she gets rid of the 'excess flab' she will LOVE what she has underneath! Increased muscle work and increased muscle mass will also mean that her overall metabolism will increase - so she will burn more calories everyday, all day. Very positive indeed.