PDA

View Full Version : Is fruit really a no-no?

Anima
09-22-2004, 07:04 AM
I am trying to re-vamp my diet but I love fruit. I find it REALLY hard to give up, let's say, grapes, especially at work where eating is sometimes difficult or not allowed.

Is fruit, in small portions, going to be bad for a muscle building diet?

I am really trying to get my head around the low carb diet but am I only allowed carbs from thins like sweet potato and grains, or are fruits OK too? I am confused to be honest...... can anyone shed light on this?

Ivey_Itch
09-22-2004, 07:13 AM
I'm no expert, but i've heard if your going to eat fruit berries are best. I occassionally have an apple, but usually i have about 1 cup of berries a day, and i usually consume them before lunch. I can't live without my berries! :)

Emma-Leigh
09-22-2004, 03:46 PM
I am trying to re-vamp my diet but I love fruit. I find it REALLY hard to give up, let's say, grapes, especially at work where eating is sometimes difficult or not allowed.

Is fruit, in small portions, going to be bad for a muscle building diet?

I am really trying to get my head around the low carb diet but am I only allowed carbs from thins like sweet potato and grains, or are fruits OK too? I am confused to be honest...... can anyone shed light on this?
There is nothing wrong with fruit, it SHOULD BE (and is essential) a part of a healthy diet and there is NO REASON you should drop it.

In terms of contest preperation - Yes, some people drop it from the last few weeks but others eat it right up to competition - it is all a matter of personal preference. Personally, I have cut to very low BF% eating 1 to 2 servings of fruit a day. It didn't make a damn bit of difference and, I feel, it actually HELPED.

Fruit is packed full of vitamins, minerals, fibre, anti-oxidants, phytochemicals, water and many other wonderful things.