PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here-Question

cdawnreed
09-20-2004, 01:49 PM
I stumbled on this forum after being a member of the cycling forum for a few months. I am new to cycling but not to lifting. I am 32 yo and have been lifting seriously off and on for about 4 years. I would like to ask a question to the group, my problem is I think I work out too long. I normally work out 1.5-2 hrs a day/4 days a week. I do a 2 day split twice a week. Day 1: Chest/Back superset and Bi/Tri superset. Day 2: Legs/Shoulders Day 3: rest. Then repeat. I try to get in 30-45 minutes of cardio on those 4 days also. Does this training split seem reasonable, of do you need more info? I have been off for several months, due to an injury. Most of my muscle tone is gone and I have gained several pounds. I am 5'5" and weigh 137 pounds. I would like to get down to 128lbs and of course increase my definition. What do you guys think?

MsFit
09-20-2004, 02:14 PM
Yes, you are over training. To lose fat you need to eat properly and train intensely, yet briefly. Cut your training down to an hour 3-5 days a week... whatever works best for you. Might try and do your cadio on your days off from lifting for better balance. I'd lower it to 20 minutes then add 5 minutes each week and build it back up that way.

cdawnreed
09-22-2004, 05:24 AM
So should I continue to do weights 4 days a week? How would you recommend that I cut back to an hour a day? And why would you recommend that I cut my cardio back to 20 min?

Thanks for the reply

MsFit
09-22-2004, 07:30 AM
You can do weights 4-6 days a week. I feel one body part a week is enough though.

There's no need in training over an hour. When I was young I had a 12:00 curfew and I fought this all the time with my parents. Mom said I don't need to be out past 12. I said anything I can do after 12 I can do before. :o Same concept. Anything you can do in 1.5 hours, you can do in just 1 hour.