PDA

View Full Version : Time for a fat loss log

phoenix87
06-17-2007, 01:02 PM
I've been regularly lifting this summer for a little over a month now. I've definitely seen some gains in strength but not much in terms of weight loss, so I thought it was time to start a fat loss specific journal.

As a little background, I was heavy into competitive sports through high school. During the last two years of college, I haven't really been too active and have gained some weight. I'd like to lose fat and hopefully increase strength this summer, as well as make a plan I can really stick to during the school year. Most importantly, I want to improve my health.

Any input regarding my diet and workout plans would be great. Itd just be great to know if I'm on the right track and if not, how to get there.

Diet

When I plug in my stats, its suggested that I get over 2500 calories per day to maintain. So I've been shooting for around 2000 a day, but a lot of times I have problems getting enough food. I'm also really confused as to whether or not I'm eating the right stuff. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

meal 1 (pre workout): 1/2 old fashioned oats, 1 scoop whey protein, serving of fresh fruit on top

meal 2 (post workout): protein shake. I make different ones but it tends to be two servings of fruit, water, and a scoop of protein.

meal 3: 3 egg whites, a small amount of cheese, and deli sliced turkey on 2 slices of wheat bread

snack: peanut butter toast or protein/ granola bar

meal 4: dinner which is whatever my mom cooks. She's been eating healthy for over a year now so it tends to be pretty healthy. some form of a lean protein and vegetables usually.

With that, my caloric intake is ~1550 (29 g fat, 193 g carbs, 142 g protein), but I'm not sure where to add food or how.

Workout
I work out 5 days a week, taking the weekends off. I also do everything in 3 sets (1 warmup set of 12 with light weight, a set of 10 reps, and a final set of 8 reps)