PDA

View Full Version : Unassisted Pullups

Hams
07-20-2004, 09:55 AM
Good day, everyone! I've got a question or two about pullups. About how long does it take to build the back and arm strength to do a set (8 reps, let's say) of unassisted pullups using a normal grip? I've been doing pullups on the assistance machine for about 3 months now and I feel I've hit a plateau. A couple of days ago I tried to do a couple with my bodyweight and could only do 1. It's very frustrating. I'm thinking that reducing bodyweight in general, and especially losing fat from the lower body, will help. In the meantime, do you have any tips for building pullup strength?

Thanks,

Hams

Emoore
07-20-2004, 10:48 AM
The best way to build strength for pullups is to do pullups. Grasshopper. (sorry, couldn't resist :D) Do them on the assist machine without much assistance, so you can only get out 5-6 reps. This will help you build your strength.

You can also try this: Hang a resistance band from the bar so it hangs down in a big U. Then you hang from the bar and put the band under your knees so it's holding up a bit of your bodyweight. It should stretch. This way the band is helping you lift a little bit of your weight, but it's closer to a "real" pullup than using an assistance machine.

Xanatos
07-20-2004, 11:00 AM
Emoore is right. You'll have to do more pullups.

You could try a variation with the tempo. Try doing maybe 3 seconds going up and 6 seconds going down, then switching to the assisted pullups (slow tempo). In time, your strength will increase.

nsouth
07-20-2004, 11:39 AM
I have found that what helps me the most is having someone hold my knees (similar to how you might use a band) so as they vary their amount of assistance I have to work harder or less hard. And it feels more like a real pull-up than the rigidness of an assistance machine.

moody_weasel
07-21-2004, 11:06 AM