PDA

View Full Version : Knees and squatting

snerd
07-14-2004, 12:02 AM
Hello! I'm fairly new at this, but I have a question.

You see, I'm having my monthly feminine thing going on and I haven't squatted in a looooong time. Now that I'm tryng to get into better shape, I went back again. When I tried to do it, one of my knees started cracking. :( Does that happen to any of you when you're going through that monthly ordeal, or could it be something wrong? I hope not! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

RippedUp
07-14-2004, 07:11 AM
Make sure you warm-up well before squatting.

- deep bodyweight squats
- light leg extensions

Some cracking at first is normal. It should go as you are warmed-up.
If not, then you should see a doctor; there might be a cartilage problem.

Atavis
07-14-2004, 07:26 AM
Cracking/popping can also be a signal that your form is off.

Thunder_Bunny
07-14-2004, 08:31 AM
For me, personally, my knees tend to crack in general. Occasionally there are aches and pains. But when I walk up a flight of stairs my knees sound like rice crispies.

I've seen a doctor about this and they couldn't find anything wrong. The most they could do for me is some physical therapy.

I find that warming up and working out my legs helps me the best.

snerd
07-14-2004, 11:33 AM
Thanks for the replies! I'll try them agian...the cracking started at the beginning, but I stopped to make sure nothing was wrong. Maybe my form really was off.

moody_weasel
07-16-2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Thunder_Bunny
For me, personally, my knees tend to crack in general. Occasionally there are aches and pains. But when I walk up a flight of stairs my knees sound like rice crispies.

Both my ankles crack, they've done that for a while but it's like every day lately even when I just walk. Really embarrassing. :(

Snerd, if you've never experienced any noises while working out make sure you're warmed-up properly and that your form is good.

JuniorFlex
07-17-2004, 01:07 AM