PDA

View Full Version : Enough with the back pain complaints, has anyone here recovered?

Ageispolis
04-16-2007, 10:15 PM
I have been battling back pain for over two years. I am 23 years old. It is now seriously affecting my work, hobbies, personal life. I sought therapy and a sports medicine doctor referred me to Athletico, a very commercial physical therapy around Chicago. The place is a great environment, but I've gone there for almost a month without any sign of improvement for my lower back sprain/strain.

My physical therapist says it's because of low flexibility in my hams and weakness in my abs.(not rectal abdominus, but transverse abdominus) also obliques, hip flexors. Im having trouble finding TA exercises besides stomach vacuums, planks, and pikes.

My question is, have anyone of you with a similar situation recovered?

de_barathrum
04-16-2007, 11:08 PM
ive spent the last 6 months rehabbing my back and only just now am i confident enough to say that i have made progress. every night before i go to sleep i make sure i do a variety of stretches to keep my muscles relaxed, and ab work is now a must in my routine. also ever since i started doing overhead squats and front squats and dropped back squats completely, i feel this is where i have made the greatest amount of my progress.

back injuries are an aboslute bitch man, best of luck in the rest of your recovery.

Tyro
04-17-2007, 03:13 AM
Im good now, i am still aware of it but better now. When lifting lift lighter than i used to but it is all good. The only thing my back gets tirred very quickly.

Kuda
04-17-2007, 03:21 AM
Yup, been there and done that. Chances are, if they are rehabbing it, it's making it sore and painful. I had the same thing, it's a "it will feel worse before it will feel better" type of situation.

Hang in there, stretch often (especially those hamstrings, which was a huge factor in my back problems).