PDA

View Full Version : I have herniated disk L4/L5 region. Can i do body building?

Cyberfox
04-10-2007, 07:56 PM
Hi there guys! I am new at this forum! actually, its my first time posting here!

First of all, i am 20 years old, my weight is 75 Kg and i am 1,90 meters tall.

I started body building 2 months ago. I have a friend that is very developed in muscles because he does body building for about 4 years! and he is leading my exercises.

But I have hernia disk at region l4/l5 because when i was younger i felt from a hole and i made a hernia....a medium hernia in that region. As he didn't knew what exercises i could and i could not pratice, we talked with the personal trainers in our gym and they told us what to do.

My goal is to gain muscle! because i am 1,90 meters tall but i am very slim! :P

so, my questions are:

Can i do body building with my hernia to get bigger muscles or should i pratice other sport?

Can i do?:

Bench Press
Incline Bench Press
Barbell Curl
One-Arm Dumbbell Row
Dumbbell Shoulder Press
Front Dumbbell Raise
Leg Extensions

without any risks?

i have been doing all these above and i have 'little pain' in my hernia...maybe i CAN do them but i am not doing them very well...like....overcharging...more weight than i should lift...is it?

I know that squads are blacklisted for my problem. And The general legs exercises are not good for my problem also like Leg Press! what about leg extensions and Lying Leg Curls?

Is militar shoulder press not good too?

i was told that all the exercises that do a vertical force in my back are not good for my hernia.

Please if anyone can guide me and help me i would apreciate it!!!

what kind of exercises should i NOT DO?

Thank you all for your attention to my problem!

Hugs guys :)

someguy20
04-10-2007, 08:13 PM
**** NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would walk and swim at most, trust me back pain is not worth seeing minimal gains, and the spine is nothing to mess with.