PDA

View Full Version : Who relies on creatine?

Clive Jones
10-10-2003, 05:43 AM
I was curious...I see so many people who are so called "natural" at the gym I go to and everyone I speak to gets bigger and stronger at a lot faster rate than me..Ive been lifting seriously for 3 years and an ex roommate at school here is like 150 lbs. and has bigger chest and arms than me, real low bf% too, he has a chiseled 6 pack..( Im 178 right now..193 last winter..trying for 200lbs this winter) and he has been taking creatine for sometime now..ive never used it, but was thinking I need to start soon because in my nutrition class, it is said to be an extreme help for performance and so forth, obviously. it is one of the supplements that actually works...so my question is..if he stopped taking it, seeing as how creatine is basically all water, wouldnt he shrink down and lose alot of strength?
How many of you have been using creatine for awhile and notice a real difference in overall size?

thanks alot.

GentlemanE
10-10-2003, 06:07 AM
I've cycled creatine several times.

When I used only creatine for a supplement, which was the first time I took it, I noticed more of an effect. This was also the time I lifted lighter for more reps. It seemed to add 10 to 20% to the number of reps I could do. It seemed to be more of an endurance gain than a strength gain. Weight gain was about 5 to 7 pounds which went away after I stopped taking it. Endurance decreased. I didn't like my non-creatine workouts but I was getting nauseous from the creatine so I couldn't take it again (probably due to poor diet and lack of water--I was younger and dumber). The end result was I couldn't stand my "inferior" workouts any more, and I quit working out entirely for about a year.