PDA

View Full Version : Eating TDEE calories after being in a very long deficit?

anastasiak1
05-13-2018, 04:23 PM
Hey guys

Just have a question I’m sure it’s simple but I’m a bit confused.

I have a very active lifestyle. Heavy strength training 5x a week, and 1 strongman session. I also work as a baker on my feet which is extremely taxing on my body and I’m always sweating.

I’ve been eating 1800 calories for about 5 years. I thought it was the calories my body needed - and then I started gaining some fat so I did some research and I think I caused metabolic damage by undereating for so long.

I got tests done and my adrenals were quit worn out and cortisol was higher than usual. I think this is from stress coupled with overtraining and undereating.

After doing a baseline calculator my TDEE is 2540 cals. I have upped my calories and have been eating this for 4 weeks now.

My questions are:

- How long do I eat these calories to repair the damage I’ve done?
- Is it possible for me to still build muscle being in this surplus, or is my body only going to use the calories to repair itself?
- When I diet again, is 100calories deficit per day too little?

Thank you!

Heisman2
05-13-2018, 04:32 PM
How has your weight changed in the last four weeks?

Adrenal fatigue is made up. There is no such thing.

How much weight did you lose while eating 1800 kcal daily for 5 years? Of not much while being quite active you probably were eating a lot more than you think.

Tigress84
05-14-2018, 04:51 AM

How much weight did you lose while eating 1800 kcal daily for 5 years? Of not much while being quite active you probably were eating a lot more than you think.

If someone's cortisol is significantly higher or lower than normal, that is not made up, it is a fact. If you don't like the name "AF", you can call it GAS, which was how originally Selye named it. Repeated blood and saliva tests don't lie.

Mortar34
05-14-2018, 04:56 AM