PDA

View Full Version : Just started lifting, need dietary tips

warhawk373
05-09-2017, 09:31 AM
I'm unsure what to do here. I have very little muscle so far which means my body won't burn much fat. But I think my fat percentage is around 15%, maybe a little more. I've been reading a lot on the difference between cutting and bulking and I realized that since I'm just starting out, it really doesn't matter so much because I'm going to gain muscle no matter what. However, I am still unsure whether I should be eating more, less, or the same amount of calories I burn. If I eat more calories I will gain weight, and I think as long as it's healthy food then it will be muscle and not fat. However I feel like I shouldn't gain weight, like I need to lose weight first.
I'm not really into being as big as possible, because I don't want to look like Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime. I just want a more lean, muscular look, not too lean though lol.

Please don't judge xD, I promise I'm not an idiot and I do realize how much work and dedication this stuff takes, I just wanted to explain kind of what my end goal is so you can help me understand what kind of diet I should be looking at.

One last thing, I watched a video where a guy was explaining how the more muscle you have, the faster you can burn fat. So should I just eat more calories, gain muscle, then after a year or two of lifting, start to cut?

dipatel13
05-09-2017, 09:36 AM
what is your weight and height?
what lifting routine are you following?

warhawk373
05-09-2017, 10:46 AM
what is your weight and height?
what lifting routine are you following?
5' 7" 150lbs