PDA

View Full Version : Getting a podgy stomach yet fat % staying the same?

TheNinjaMonkey
06-22-2015, 01:26 AM
Hi all,

I wondered if someone could give me some advice?

My TDEE is around 2900. I weight train 4 days a week on a 3 day split (Back and Bi's, Chest and Tris, Legs and Shoulders). After each session i normally fit in a 25 minute HIIT session.

I'm eating approx 2650 cals a day and i eat "clean" (No junk food like KFC / McDonalds etc, all whole foods, generally all my meats are without flavorings)

I've been tracking my body fat since Feb which started on 17%, as of this morning i'm now on 13.4% body fat. (This is measured from a set of electronic scales with the feature built in (it tracks body fat, muscle %, water retention and something else i can't remember..))

Everywhere on my body is starting to look nicely defined apart from my stomach. Since upping my calories (i was probably on about 1800 before i started training) i had a nice flat stomach, i appreciate I've gone up in cals by about 850 cals but i would have thought the amount of exercise would have helped counter it?

Is there anything obvious here that i'm missing? - My body fat is getting lower.. my stomach seems to be getting podgy?!

Thanks
Matt

Mooredb
06-22-2015, 05:07 AM
How long have you been at the 2,600 calories? That seems a bit high for cutting. I would reduce your calories down to 2,350 for the first 3 - 4 weeks and add in 1 hour low intensity cardio on a non lifting day and see how it goes. Also start measuring and tracking your waist measurement. I sort of had the same problem and I kept lowering my calories and increased cardio until the waist line started going down. Also it may not be belly fat you could just be bloated possibly.

Hi all,

I wondered if someone could give me some advice?

My TDEE is around 2900. I weight train 4 days a week on a 3 day split (Back and Bi's, Chest and Tris, Legs and Shoulders). After each session i normally fit in a 25 minute HIIT session.