PDA

View Full Version : Should I use pre-workout?

scrummy1Dots
05-23-2015, 11:59 AM
Hello!
I am posting this question in "Supplement Science" because I am a chemist and like explanations given to me at a technical and molecular level :P I am a 21 year old female and have been lifting pretty regularly since early high school. I've gotten more serious with the sport the past few years but want to up my game. I am generally hesitant to take supplements because I don't like ingesting something if I don't know how if interacts with my body (and I'm on a college student budget...saving for vet school!). I use Gold Standard natural whey protein and take a multivitamin, but other than that rely on food.

Convince me whether or not I should add pre-workout to the mix. Ready...GO!

gbullock32
05-23-2015, 01:15 PM
Do you 'need' one? Nope? Skip it.

Yes? Take one.

cumminslifter
05-23-2015, 08:00 PM
If you have to ask people on the internet whether you should or not...you probably shouldnt

Loyalist
05-30-2015, 04:12 AM
I voted Yes, for the following reasons.
- I find it helps (I work out very early in the morning, pre workouts "Get me to the gym")
- I can afford it (I am not limited to a student budget)

Your experience may vary.

SittingPress
06-04-2015, 04:38 PM
I think it would be a good idea to tell us your goals. Muscle? Fat loss? Strength? Power?

Why might you need one? How are your workouts? Do you tend to fatigue fast? How often and for how long do you workout? Cardio?
Any good scientist knows, more data means better predictive analysis.

jcrosslin
06-10-2015, 06:12 AM
Every person is different. Some days I feel like I need one and others I don't. I usually have 2 cups of coffee each morning with breakfast before working out. Usually I am fine with that. If I work out later in the day, sometimes I take one, and sometimes even after coffee (ie on leg day) I will take one.

scrummy1Dots
06-18-2015, 07:52 AM