PDA

View Full Version : Please advise - Vegetarian Indian diet + possible work out plans

Strange7410
12-28-2014, 10:13 PM
I've been creeping around the forums for a few months now. I'm sorry if there exists a recent thread on this very topic. I've read in a few threads that very old threads to be not bumped so here's a new one.

So my story - in short,

As a young kid and a teenager, I was quite skinny and probably underweight. Around last two years of college I started putting on weight - not purposefully but it just happened. I had never cared enough about working out, diets etc. I ate whatever that came my way.

About couple of years ago I started being unhappy about the way I looked. In short, big body skinny arms. Being careless, I didn't do anything until about 4 months ago.

I was ~170 pounds and absolutely hated the way I looked. I started going to the gym but saw no results for the first month. Then I decided to just focus on losing weight. Through skipping meals and sometimes starving I'm at ~145 pounds now.

I'm 5' 7", ~145 pounds, medium shoulders, 24 years of age. Got a belly and handles.

I read a lot about building muscles - maybe more than I should have. About 80% of the information told me to eat as much as I could and bulk up to enhance muscle growth. The problem is that if I start eating more, I'll gain fat very quickly. I know this because while losing the 25 pounds, I had spurts where I gave up and put on 5 pounds in a couple of days.

so the question is, what should I eat? and how much of it? I'm vegetarian and Indian. For lunch I can eat/not eat whatever but for dinner I usually eat whatever mom makes (Indian food, Gujarati to be specific). I'd say a proper dinner is between 700-1000 calories). I don't eat breakfast or have regular snacking time. for past 3-4 months, I've skipped about 50% of lunches and about 80% of any snacking.