PDA

View Full Version : overhead shoulder presses - asking for advice

mrw1980
12-13-2014, 09:54 AM
Hi guys,

I started lifting again five weeks ago after several years of getting out of shape. I decided to start with Mehdi's Stronglifts 5x5. I get pain in my upper back and neck if I go heavy at all with overhead presses. You guys think dumbbell presses (where I can rotate my wrists a bit) are a suitable substitute? Or is it more likely that my upper back is too weak, and I should stop being a wuss?

Thanks ahead of time for any advice,

Matt

Mr. Someday
12-13-2014, 10:21 AM
Hi guys,

I started lifting again five weeks ago after several years of getting out of shape. I decided to start with Mehdi's Stronglifts 5x5. I get pain in my upper back and neck if I go heavy at all with overhead presses. You guys think dumbbell presses (where I can rotate my wrists a bit) are a suitable substitute? Or is it more likely that my upper back is too weak, and I should stop being a wuss?

Matt

Are you doing them standing? Free weights? Smith?

I prefer the Smith for heavy barbell presses so I can find a good groove, but I also do them behind the neck. I hate presses to the front. Bottom line, if a movement in a certain plane of motiuon is bothering you, try a different plane of motion, different exercise or run a higher rep range. Intensity can come in many forms.

mrw1980
12-13-2014, 12:02 PM
Standing, barbell, no smith.

I'll go down in weight and try behind my head next week. Thanks for the response!

familyguy1975
12-13-2014, 12:07 PM
Are you doing them standing? Free weights? Smith?

I prefer the Smith for heavy barbell presses so I can find a good groove, but I also do them behind the neck. I hate presses to the front. Bottom line, if a movement in a certain plane of motiuon is bothering you, try a different plane of motion, different exercise or run a higher rep range. Intensity can come in many forms.

Do you recommend the branford press?

Mr. Someday