PDA

View Full Version : Ideal weight gain for lean-ish bulk? (quick question)

RCatta
12-06-2014, 07:47 AM
Hey, sorry if this is a stupid question. I even remember reading about this at some point but I can't for the life of me remember.

Anyway, I started training in September at 147.71 lbs. Three months later (roughly 14 weeks) I'm at 163 lbs. So that's about 16 lbs in 14 weeks. Please keep in mind that I also started taking Creatine in September, so a few of pounds may result from there.

Can this be considered a lean-ish bulk? Clothes I wear are usually fit and starting to feel tighter due to gains. This is my first "real" bulk so I'm trying not to overdo it.

Also is it normal to actually be gaining weight on ~2100 calories considering my bw? My daily macros are:
P: 170
C: 195
F: 54
Total: 2,112

I mean I used to eat ~ 1300-1400 in college due to ..well, college. But after graduation and getting a job I can afford a good diet. Was my metabolism forced to adapt to those values?

Mrpb
12-06-2014, 07:50 AM
At this stage the amount of muscle you can gain per month is about 2 pounds. If you want to lean bulk, that's how fast I would bulk.

RCatta
12-06-2014, 08:00 AM
But considering my stats is it normal to be gaining weight on a diet like that?

Mrpb
12-06-2014, 08:07 AM
But considering my stats is it normal to be gaining weight on a diet like that?

It's rather surprising that a 160 pound man would gain weight on 2100 calories.

Are you quite inactive?

Are you sure you count everything? (oil, sauces, drinks etc.)

PS. Your fat intake is too low. Fat should be at least 0.45 gram per lb, as a minimum. Higher is allowed.

RCatta
12-06-2014, 08:16 AM
It's rather surprising that a 160 pound man would gain weight on 2100 calories.

Are you quite inactive?

Are you sure you count everything? (oil, sauces, drinks etc.)

PS. Your fat intake is too low. Fat should be at least 0.45 gram per lb, as a minimum. Higher is allowed.