PDA

View Full Version : Im 5ft 6inch tall and weighs 126lb. How much daily calories do I need to bulk up?

jiheonsohng
11-26-2014, 05:38 PM
Hi guys, I'm a short asian guy who's a complete beginner in bodybuilding (I've only worked out for 2 days so far).
I have committed myself to work out consistently for the rest of my life. (This is for a variety of reasons, not just for building muscle)
Anyways, my current goal is to gain as much muscle as possible in a short period of time.

My basic profile:

Height: 5ft 6inch (168cm)
Weight: 126 lb
Exercise level: 3 times a day

I consulted a personal trainer at the gym today and he tells me that in order to bulk up, I need to eat A LOT, about 3500 kcal daily, 6 meals a day.
And he also tells me that carb should account for at least 50% of my meal, since carb is very important in building muscle along with protein.
Now 3500 kcal per day sounds EXCESSIVE to me, since I usually eat about 1800 - 2000 kcal a day.
IIFYM calculator tells me that my TDEE is 1921 kcal / day using Katch-McCardle formula based on an estimated 17% body fat. ( I did not use a body fat caliper; I just guessed).
I know that I need to eat more than my TDEE in order to bulk up, but 3500 kcal is nearly twice my TDEE ! The trainer didn't measure my height, weight, nor my body fat %, so how do you think he arrived at such number? (I should have asked him this)
I mean I don't mind gaining a few percentages of extra body fat if that's what's required in bulking up, but 3500 kcal is 1579 kcal above my TDEE... (I'm not even sure if I can eat that much in a day without relying on mass gainers). I want to maximize my muscle gain, but at the same time, I'm worried if eating that much would make me too fat.