PDA

View Full Version : Sleepy all the time while Bulking

floridagirl7
10-06-2014, 07:22 PM
I've been bulking for about 2 months now and gained about 3 pounds. Im eating 2200 cal, which is 500 above my maintaince.

Lately, I've been feeling very sleepy, especially after meals. I'm not super active besides a 1 hour workout 3 days a week. Other than that just walking to classes, sitting at library/class, and cooking/eating.

Im wondering if this feeling of tiredness all the time is due to the sheer amount of calories im consuming(takes alot of energy for body to digest) , or if its my carb intake. I've considered lowering carb intake and upping fat to see if this while make any difference?
Im currently at 270c 150p 60f

does anyone else feel tired/sleepy when bulking?

desslok
10-06-2014, 07:39 PM
Personally i mainly get sleepy after big meals. Or if i have a lot of simple carbs and come down off a sugar high later.

floridagirl7
10-06-2014, 07:50 PM
Personally i mainly get sleepy after big meals. Or if i have a lot of simple carbs and come down off a sugar high later.

almost all of my carbs are complex (oats, whole wheat bread/pasta, brown rice, beans, sweet potato, etc) so Im guessing that cant be why.
Also, My sugar intake is usually no more than 50g a day, with at least 30-40 from natural sources (milk,fruit, greek yogurt, etc).

Could it just be the amount of carbs?

Also, I've thought about this it might be totally wrong but just a thought...could complex carbs make me sleepy due to the fiber content and the fact that they are harder to digest?

AFC96
10-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Sleepy after a big meal.

floridagirl7
10-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Sleepy after a big meal.

I try to spread my meals throughout the day so I never have to have a huuuuge meal. 600cal is my biggest meal (70c)

Mrpb
10-06-2014, 09:27 PM
Could it just be the amount of carbs?

Totally.

Large amounts of carbs make me sleepy too. I bulk on higher fat.