PDA

View Full Version : I can't seem to lose fat...but I can't gain any either. Should I just gain muscle?

NotSoFitGuy
07-07-2014, 07:06 PM
Hi all. I'm a 15 year old newbie to working out and trying to be healthier. I've been experimenting with my diet for months now, trying to find the "perfect" nutrition for me and my lifestyle. I've reached a halt in weight at 85kg. Long story short, I've found that losing fat is very challenging for me but gaining fat is almost just as difficult. Gaining strength and muscle however is a walk in the park (compared to the former), assuming I push myself to the limit at every workout session. No matter what kind of food I eat, as long as I don't eat until bursting point, I will not gain fat (but I will gain muscle). Of course, that doesn't mean I can just eat junk though. If I eat healthier I generally feel better. So far I've decided to just eat food that doesn't leave me feeling bloated and sick, and so that has left me with simple meals such as a large chunk of meat with a portion of mixed vegetables being the base of my daily diet.

So here's my question: if I just steadily bulk and continue to gain muscle and strength, while maintaining this amount of fat that I currently have, will the amount of muscle 'fill out' and 'even out' the fat? For example, I have some chest fat. If I build up my chest muscles will the chest fat be less noticeable? Or will I still look like a fat slob even if I get a bigger back and limbs (most of my fat is stored on my belly and some on my chest)? If anyone's had experience with 'clean bulking' I'd really appreciate some feedback.

cls91
07-07-2014, 07:12 PM
You need to be in a calorie deficit to lose fat (weight in general).