PDA

View Full Version : Work out buddy situation.

Demonchylde
06-17-2014, 05:39 AM
I wanted to ask you opinion on whether or not you like training with someone, or if you prefer training alone.

When I first joined the gym, I did so with a friend who was trying to get fit. While in the beginning it was pretty ideal. Mainly because it got me off the couch and to the gym. My workout buddy eventually quit. I still kept it up. The difference is that I never intended to go, and never asked to go with him.

I am in a situation now where I have friend who wants to get into shape. He asked if he could tag along or train with me, and I am debating. My main reasoning is that I have been training alone now for about 8 months. So I have a routine, I switch up a lot of things and try new things.

My situation is that I really want to focus on lifting, which is what I personally need. He tends to want to lose weight, and we are vastly different body types. So his idea is going to the gym and using the Cardio Equipment, where I tend to do less cardio or use it as a warm up. I did tell him that Cardio is fine, but to help slim down he needs to throw some weights in there as well. He seems rather disinterested in that part of things.

He is a really good friend so obviously I don't wanna just say no, but I have a feeling it's going to be the situation where I feel like it's going to get in the way. Then again, I might not have gone to the gym period if my friend did not encourage me. Encouragement is good.

Would you just say no, or get him out there, have him start with the Cardio which he is comfortable with and then introduce him to some of the other things I have picked up.

I have explained what I do at the gym so he knows I am not going to stop for him.

What is your preference. Are you more the lone wolf type, or do you like having a training partner?

poundXpound
06-17-2014, 05:43 AM