PDA

View Full Version : Any Surfers? NOOB here [GTFIH]

strengthgained
02-22-2014, 10:37 PM
What's up Brahs

Basically I need a new hobby other than working out to do.

I wanna make new friends and meet cool people through surfing but I have no idea where to begin.

I plan on asking around to find good starting spots but what else?

I don't want to get in anyone's way when I'm learning.

Begging for some tips/guidance.
Thanks bros

TTexasTT
02-22-2014, 11:03 PM
well, start on location. if you live in Kansas youre gonna have some problems.

strengthgained
02-22-2014, 11:08 PM
well, start on location. if you live in Kansas youre gonna have some problems.

lmao im in SoCal

cor030
02-22-2014, 11:23 PM
Yo

Surfline.com - this will be your best friend. If you go to the cam/stream section you can actually navigate your way thru local spotsz. they have cams up worldwide giving you a live look at what the current waves are like and a full/detailed surf report(and a forcecast but those are not reliable).

You could sign up for a surf class at any local surf shop but you're better off just buying a cheap used board and teaching yourself. You can find surfboards for cheap(I'm talking $75-100) on Craigslist. Contrary to phaggot movies surfers are incredibly chill (around here at least) and will help you out if you need it).

I learned when I was like 8 or 9 by renting a foam board one day(shouldn't be more than $20) and picked a day where the waves were shiet and the ocean was calm was fuk. Days like that are perfect because the waters won't be crowded and it'll give you a chance to work on popping up/balancing/getting a feel for standing on the board.

I prefer shorter boards as they're much, much more fun when you get some experience but longboards are insanely easy and I know plenty of surfers that prefer them because it's so chill. They're much more expensive, tho.

DonaldT24
02-22-2014, 11:25 PM