PDA

View Full Version : My calories and macros - advice needed

feelix
06-17-2013, 10:55 AM
Hi,

I started training seriously for the first time of my life about 4 months ago. I've been training 3 times a week, mainly circuit training and light cardio.

Concerning my diet, I have been following these values:

calories: 2000
proteins: ~175 g
fat : ~ 75 g
carbs : ~175 g

I managed to lose 14 pounds of fat and gained 3.5 pounds of lean body mass which is what I wanted (lose fat and minimize muscle loss)

However, I will start a new workout plan in 2 days and I will be training 6 days a week (around 1.5 hour/day) and will be doing a lot more cardio too. So I am wondering if my values are still ok or if I should modify them ? I also work 45-50 hours+ per week as a waiter (so it's a pretty physical job).

Also, I would like to lose fat faster if possible, but I don't know how far I can go without losing muscle ?

I read on another thread that since i'm new to weight lifting, obese (31.2% bf) and an endomorph, I shouldn't be concerned about losing muscle while losing weight cause it probably won't happen, but i'd like to be sure ?

thanks a lot !

Domicron
06-17-2013, 10:59 AM
disregard endomorph, first. glad to see the numbers.

if you're seeing results by using the numbers keep going until you don't. 2000 cals seems low, but you said you're obese, so maybe that's good for you. i would try not to worry about speed. slow progress is lasting progress

KayPS
06-17-2013, 11:00 AM
First, congratulations on making the decision to get healthy, and your initial weight loss.

Second, please don't use endo/ecto/mesomorph to describe yourself. They don't exist, and are excuses.

Now, onto your questions. Where did you get your numbers? Calories? What is your TDEE?

Re: your macros -

Set protein to .82g/lb
Set fat to .4g/lb
These are minimums.
Compose remaining calories of whatever spread of p/f/c you prefer.