PDA

View Full Version : Hypothyroidism and PCOS help?

smz08
03-08-2013, 09:33 AM
Hey everyone -
I have both hypothyroidism and PCOS, which has made it a struggle for me to maintain my weight and especially to lose. Last year, I was addicted to exercise so I wouldn't gain weight - I was doing sprints in the morning, doing weights in the mid afternoon, then teaching Spinning or running again at night (around 8 miles or so). I was about 143 at that time and around 19-21% BF. I would freak out if I missed a workout, or if I had one meal that wasn't 100% clean or in my plan (which was just meats, fruits, veggies, and nuts - nothing processed). My life was all about fitness and diet (which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but I'm a full time student with a job and a million other things I should be concentrating on).

So I pulled it back this year so that I could find a healthy balance and get all of my friends and family off of my back. But now, with working out once a day (doing both strength and cardio), and sometimes twice on the two days that I teach Spin, I'm up to 160, and I don't even know what BF% currently... last time I checked about a month ago I was 25% or 26%. I still kept my diet in check, eating clean as much as I can, giving myself a little leeway not he rare occasion that I go out to eat (and I'm a poor college student, so trust me - it's rare). I'm pretty good about getting adequate sleep - I'm usually in bed before 11, and get up around 6am each day, so I don't think that's an issue.