PDA

View Full Version : is there ever such a thing as too many protein shakes?

Farmzey
01-31-2013, 06:31 PM
hey i've been working out about 3-4 times a week for the past year or so and have gotten great results (down to about 14% body fat 190 pounds down from around 25% at 230 pounds).

Anyway I started taking things more seriosly as progress has slowed and i'm trying to stay determined and reach my goals, i currently try and get about 150-170 grams of protein in a day but a problem is that i'm a student so buying lean meats or greek yogurt isn't always going to happen so i find myself consuming about 2-3 shakes a day (each with 2 servings whey so ~ 50 g protein) because a shake only costs about 1.20$ for 2 servings where as lean meats can be 4-5$ a serving. is there any way this would be unhealthy or is that just a piece of "bro science" that says that having more than X amount of supplements a day causes X Y and Z

Thanks for any tips in advance!

Wiiownz16
01-31-2013, 06:39 PM
hey i've been working out about 3-4 times a week for the past year or so and have gotten great results (down to about 14% body fat 190 pounds down from around 25% at 230 pounds).

Anyway I started taking things more seriosly as progress has slowed and i'm trying to stay determined and reach my goals, i currently try and get about 150-170 grams of protein in a day but a problem is that i'm a student so buying lean meats or greek yogurt isn't always going to happen so i find myself consuming about 2-3 shakes a day (each with 2 servings whey so ~ 50 g protein) because a shake only costs about 1.20$ for 2 servings where as lean meats can be 4-5$ a serving. is there any way this would be unhealthy or is that just a piece of "bro science" that says that having more than X amount of supplements a day causes X Y and Z

Thanks for any tips in advance!

All broscience man. Protein is just protein. Don't worry about it. you could drink 4 shakes a day lol.

softpounder
01-31-2013, 06:39 PM