View Full Version : Is searchnu a virus?

07-26-2012, 06:47 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right sub-section, but my problem pertains to something called "searchnu".

Any of you brahs know what this is?

When I open my google chrome browser, I get redirected to this "searchnu" website.

Is it a virus? New google chrome update (haven't used this comp. in like 2 weeks just been using my laptop)?

Please respond brahs. Measly reps.

07-26-2012, 07:09 PM
Yes, it is a browser hijack basically.

The way people usually get it, is when they agree to install some search bar when auto-installing a program called iLivid download manager.


You can get rid of it by simply stomping it with Malwarebytes anti-malware (in safe mode), and make sure you uninstall these entries from your add/remove programs list:

- ilivid,
- bandoo media
- searchqu/searchnu

Also disable the chrome/firefox extension

If that doesn't help, follow this step-by-step guide: (note: do not download any programs from that site, just in case)


I know this because I had to remove the exact same virus on my brother's computer less than a week ago.

07-26-2012, 07:53 PM
i had this searchnu virus for a couple weeks and i kept trying to set my homepage back to google.com but it never changed. thanks for the info man!