PDA

View Full Version : Lost a lot of weight recently

BorinquenSi
02-08-2012, 09:53 AM
Hello, I'm new to body building completely. I just turned 40 (OMG) Monday. On June 25th 2011 I was weighing 298 just overweight!! I've been on a strict diet and exercise routine since then, and I've lost 98 lbs. I mainly do the elliptical machine, rowing machine and crunches, but now I ant to hit the weight. The problem is I don't know where to begin. Can anyone give me any suggestions or point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance!!

tsoden
02-08-2012, 10:41 AM
Congrats on the weight loss!!

I would keep it simple, a full body plan three days a week with cardio on the off days. Once you get used to the plan and the exercises, you can change it up. Keep the sets and reps to around 3 set and 8-10 reps per exercise. Focus on compound movements that incorporate multiple muscle groups:

-bench Press
-Squats
-Deadlifts
-Dips
-Pullups

Take a look around the site... there are a lot of beginner plans that are quite easy to follow.

activeseven
02-08-2012, 10:46 AM
Wow 98lbs, congrats!

SleeperService
02-08-2012, 10:59 AM
First of all, congratulations on the weight loss. 98lbs is impressive indeed!

My story is broadly analogous to yours although not quite as impressive - hit 40ish, didn't like who I'd become and lost about 25 lbs weight over a year. The next logical step for me was to try and improve strength. As mentioned there are a number of excellent programs on this board - I used one which is close to kethnaab's variation of Rippetoe's Starting Strength with good gains so far. You can search for it on the boards.

One thing to be aware of is that you may or may not put weight on doing this programme - the 'newbie' effect is a mystical beast whose properties I don't pretend to understand although I am sure there are many here who can provide an explanation of how it works.

BorinquenSi
02-08-2012, 11:46 AM