PDA

View Full Version : As a beginner do I need any supplements?

epictetus100
02-03-2012, 11:13 AM
I am only starting out to workout. As a beginner do I need any supplements?
My goal is fat loss/muscle gain.
I weigh 215 pounds and I think I have about 28% body fat.
Also How many calories/protein would I need daily.
Thank you.

Retoaded
02-03-2012, 11:46 AM
first read the nutrition subforum and the stickies there....that will tell you how much you need to eat to lose weight and how much protein you need. If you have trouble not getting the protein you need, protein isolate powders for shakes are worth considering. I am also cutting right now and I use 1 or 2 shakes a day to help me meet my protein goals without adding too many calories...if cutting pretty hard sometimes its hard to get a ton of protein at the reduced calories...the protein will help you build/retain muscle while cutting.

multivitamins are good.

HOWEVER the key and only key, and number one thing, and most important thing...is diet. you have to calculate what you just asked. its in the stickies on the nutrition forum. track your food for a couple weeks and you'll get a good feel for it. Then you'll know whether to add a protein isolate or not.

How do I know this? I've lost 30 pounds over the last 4 or 5 months while getting stronger at the same time. I floundered around for the first couple months until I got smart and educated myself. So I am saving you the trouble. start with your nutrition. also: lift heavy freeweights...build your lean muscle mass. that will raise your BMR (you will find this in the stickies) and help your deficit even more and help you continue to lose weight.

Once you know what you should be eating every day, and you learn how to work out effectively....its seriously not even hard.

tsoden
02-03-2012, 12:11 PM
If you did a search in this forum on this very question I am sure you would have found half a dozen threads on this matter.

No Matter...