PDA

View Full Version : Anthropology Student Looking for Volunteers

AnthroDan
01-31-2012, 12:07 PM
Hi,

I am an anthropology student at Concordia University and I am looking for volunteers for a research project about fitness. I am interested in hearing from anyone who would like to share their experiences with me (fitness goals, motivations, lifestyle, etc.).

Aim: The goal of my research is to gain an understanding of the recent fitness craze. I am particularly interested in hearing from those who train in fitness clubs or gyms. I would like to hear from a variety of people from diverse cultural backgrounds. This project is for an anthropology class and participation will be greatly appreciated.

Participation: Participation in this research project is completely voluntary. It will consist of a series of informal questions and conversations either by private message on here, by e-mail, or by other means if that is more convenient. What you choose to share with me may potentially be published, but your anonymity is guaranteed. I encourage those of you who are interested in participating to either send me an e-mail or a private message, or simply post in this thread if you wouldn't mind me sending you a private message with some questions.

Feel free to post with any suggestions, questions, or concerns in this thread. Thank you in advance.

You may choose to answer the below questions, or perhaps if you prefer provide me with an anecdote about your experiences (why you began training, why you continue, or really anything else in regard to fitness you care to share).

1)How old are you?
2)Are you male or female?
3)What is your ethnic origin?
4)Where do you currently live?
5)What is your occupation?
6)What initially made you decide to begin going to the gym?
7)For how long have you been going to the gym?
8)How many times a week do you usually go?
9)What activities do you usually do when at the gym? (cardio, aerobics, strength training, etc.)