PDA

View Full Version : Another new guy introduction/question

thoffland
01-29-2012, 10:52 PM
Hello, I'm just getting into working out again after about 9 years. I've never really lifted weights except when I was younger (like 18) and that was short lived. I've just joined a gym and have dedicated myself to going 3 days a week. My goal is to do 15 min of cardio each time until I build myself up a bit, and lifting weights focusing on different parts each time with some guidance from a friend.

I can only describe myself as "sedentary" up to this point, I don't consider myself overweight really, but I'm definitely soft from sitting in front of a computer all my life. I'm 41, about 5'10 and 175 lbs and haven't calculated body fat or anything else yet, but want to get that done just for goal setting.

I've got a bunch of samples of various protein shakes from a friend to help me find one I really like, but after reading through the forums a bit I'm wondering if I should be looking at some fat burner? Mainly for the spare tire, which I've been reading is mostly cured by cardio and takes some time since it's not an area that contains a lot of muscle? I'm not one to put alot of stuff in my body, but if it's something that's healthy and respected I'd look into it. Does anyone have recommendations? And is this a good idea or am I falling for hype?

Thanks in advance for any light you can shed on the subject!

plumher
01-29-2012, 11:06 PM
op, SPEND SOME TIME READING THE STICKIES. Your diet is key to lose fat. Weight training helps you keep the muscle you have while dieting. start using your body to be more active and it will respond by getting leaner and more fit. Cardio can be vital for getting under 12% bf, but for the most part isnt crucial to lose weight, although it can help your heart by increasing your heart rate to 140-160 bpm for 20-30 min.

GL. Do something you can stick with and make it a lifestyle not a passing thing

tsoden
01-30-2012, 02:32 AM