PDA

View Full Version : Lifting belt question

50wyldeman
01-26-2012, 05:46 PM
Hey all serious Noob here, my question is in regards to a lifting belt.
When do you feel its a must have , currently my deadlift is over my body weight and after my last workout I felt it in my back for the first time . I had been hoping to be farther along on the weight loss part of this adventure before investing in one but am now wondering if I NEED one?
I have a long way to go and do not want to injure myself but my trainer hasn't TOLD me I need one yet so should i be ok?

FWIW I weigh 335, my deadlift max is a bit over that (365)

I looked in the store here and didn't find a belt my Size other than the Schiek?

Thanks

chodan9
01-26-2012, 05:51 PM
just curious
what size are you looking for?
I got a smallish one and it was 70 bucks or something like that.

50wyldeman
01-26-2012, 06:01 PM
Chodan:
Sadly I need a xxl or bigger it would appear, I measured my waist and its 53" I think I could get away with a 50" belt though, do you think I should be using a belt? Thanks for the reply!!

DocTats
01-26-2012, 06:18 PM
You're probably going to get a few different opinions so my advice is since you feel that you might need one, might as well get one. I was going to link you to a site called Best Belts but sadly, the site is either down or out of business (hope not). I got a new belt from them last summer, a single prong 10 mm Athlete's Belt that was broken in....awesome. I previously had a 13 mm double prong belt that I bought in 1993 and that was a pain to break in and even when it did, hard to take off. But with this belt, only took a couple of sessions to break in. What was (is) good about Best Belts is that they custom make their belts and they will make one to your exact size.

From research I did, other good reputable belt companies are Inzer, Bob's Belts, Cardillo, APT,Titan to name a few.